Introduction to Chakras: 7 Major Energy Centres



Chakra, a Sanskrit word translated as ‘wheel’.  The concept of chakra originates from ancient Indian spiritual traditions, particularly within yoga and Ayurveda. Chakras in simple terms are known as energy points within our subtle body.

The commonly known seven main chakra are centres that are aligned along the spine, from the base to the crown of the head.

Each of these seven chakra centres is known to correspond to different aspects of physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual health and well-being. Below is a brief overview on the 7 main chakras:


  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of the spine.

Associated with feelings of safety, security, and stability.

Governs the physical body’s connection to the earth and basic survival needs.

  1. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Positioned in the lower abdomen.

Linked to creativity, passion, and emotional well-being.

It influences relationships, pleasure, and the ability to experience joy.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Situated in the upper abdomen.

Associated with personal power, confidence, and self-esteem.

It governs the sense of identity and autonomy.

  1. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Located in the center of the chest.

Associated with love, compassion, and emotional balance.

It influences the capacity for empathy, forgiveness, and connection with others.

  1. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Located in the middle of the throat.

Linked to communication, self-expression, and authenticity.

It governs the ability to speak one’s truth and listen deeply.

Sat Nam – truth is my identity!

  1. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Located between the eyebrows.

Associated with intuition, insight, and spiritual awareness.

It influences perception, imagination, and inner wisdom.

  1. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Located at the top of the head.

Linked to higher consciousness, divine purpose and spiritual connection.

It governs the experience of transcendence and unity/oneness with the universe.


Feature imagine : courtesy of unsplash